Today has been THAT day and bread

So if you follow me on twitter (@SJTMV3) you know since about 8 this morning I have been desperate for a drink and a shower…I know both are too much to ask for especially on a snow day with sick kids!
Alas I did the thing every sick mama wants to do *sniffle, cough* I cleaned the kitchen…started the dishes and put on the disposal and got a crrrr rgggg thunk tink CRACK…* holy fuck* was my first thought *what is in there* being my second…well it was…drum roll…a ToY because ya know toys belong in my garbage disposal. The worst part of this is I can’t decide if I think the kids put it in there to be silly or Corey to be,well, a dude?
So I pull almost all the toy out since it is now in 96361920 pieces and move on to making bread (burst of energy!)
Mid bread dough kneading the boys excuse themselves from the table *something about needing to poop, giggle, erm brush their hair* I think this silly but not particularly odd. Until I hear Not That Much! Don’t touch me with it and I run up to the bathroom and *slam* one door right in the face, I run to the next door *click* locked! ‘hurry, turn on the water’ the door opens a sliver I muscle my way past the three year old bouncer to…tooth paste…everywhere…

I have had many a friend ask for my recipe so here we go!
I make two loaves at a time so if you only need 1 cut in half!

2 packets yeast in 1 cup warm water to dissolve
4 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup milk
3 tablespoons of butter
3 tablespoons sugar
2 tsp salt

Mix the yeast and water until bubbly

Add all other ingredients and mix with your hands until doughy then spread wheat flour on counter and need for ten minutes

Clean out your mixing bowl and spray with non stick spray and place dough ball in the bowl covered in a warm area for one hour

Knead dough for 20 minutes then roll and put into your Pam covered bread pan

Let sit for one hour (preheat oven in this time to 350)

After your bread has doubled in size stick in the oven for 30 minutes

Yumm all done!


-Samantha

Leave a Reply

