The Finding Frugal Side of It and How Raw this Wound Really Is

So I was listening to pandora the other morning while getting ready, I heard this song Real and I was all that’s so touching until he sang a line Real is a little dream house with a big ole foreclosed sign…then I cried and I realized how real-ly raw this wound still is. I mean taxes are sucky and all but hearing that and thinking back to buying our house, wanting to grow old in it with my husband, bringing my babies home to that house (and having one in the loving room), watching my babies grow in it and seeing myself grow up in it…it was sad, hard and a relief to leave. But it’s still a raw wound

Now for the finding frugal side of things…I think I missed it 😦 I have spent soo much on groceries and I don’t know I almost feel like it’s not any cheaper to make it all myself! Healthier sure, but we will see on the first when we break it all down! It just is hard to see the whole picture from the bottom of the mountain (or is it a mole hill?)
On a lighter note anyone up for…


French Onion Soup!
Altered from allrecipes.com!
Ingredients
1/4 cup butter
3 onions, thinly sliced
1 teaspoon white sugar
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
2 1/2 cups water
1/2 cup red wine
2 cans vegetarian broth
1 French baguette
8 ounces sliced Swiss cheese
Directions
Melt butter or margarine in a 4 quart saucepan. Stir in sugar. Cook onions over medium heat for 10 minutes, or until golden brown.
Stir in flour until well blended with the onions and pan juices. Add water, wine, and beef broth; heat to boiling. Reduce heat to low. Cover soup, and simmer for 10 minutes.
Cut four 1 inch thick slices of bread from the loaf. Toast the bread slices at 325 degrees F (165 degrees C) just until browned, about 10 minutes. Reserve the remaining bread to serve with the soup.
Ladle soup into four 12 ounce, oven-safe bowls. Place 1 slice toasted bread on top of the soup in each bowl. Fold Swiss cheese slices, and fit onto toasted bread slices. Place soup bowls on a cookie sheet for easier handling.
Bake at 425 degrees F (220 degrees C) for 10 minutes, or just until cheese is melted
Nutritional Information
Amount Per Serving Calories: 732 | Total Fat: 29.4g | Cholesterol: 89mg

This is an extremely filling soup I served it with Paninis and blueberry muffins with Brie centers topped with apricot glaze…I only did 1/4 cup servings to save on calories, leaving the entire meal at 500 calories (not cheap 😉 but it did provide me with left over lunch for a week

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

